thinkmore

156

Posted in tools of the trade by hemmant jha on December 21, 2009

Building muscle one two-finger scroll at a time.

I have slim and flexible fingers. Not given to needless physical activity like working out or climbing mountains, this author has made enough lifestyle choices that have allowed said fingers to remain slender and supple. And I’m hypermobile. These digits are perfect tools for fine artwork and penmanship, the manufacture, assembly and disassembly of electronic or mechanical devices – anything that requires a high degree of precision.

Having remained comfortable with these digits for so long, it was more than a little disconcerting to notice that the first two fingers of my right and left hands no longer looked like they belonged to the same person. Not horribly disfigured or anything, but quite obviously different in appearance and feel. The two digits in question on the right hand are more muscular and firm. Gone was the supple flex, replaced by a somewhat robust rigidity. Could it be the incessant tapping away on the keyboard? Unlikely, since I use both hands and more than just two fingers to type.

It’s the two-finger scroll on my Macbook Pro. During the last 3 years, I’ve used the two-finger scroll for everything from web browsing to Illustrator and Photoshop – it’s a marvelous and indispensable tool that, once experienced, one cannot do without.

Fans of Asterix and Obelisk will remember the comic book where the duo participates in the Olympics, only to compete against athletes honed for the express purpose of excelling at one sport [and one sport only]. My condition brings to mind the champion javelin thrower who had one scrawny arm, while the other ballooned with muscle – at this rate, that’s where I will be very soon. Has anyone else noticed anything similar?

Stay tuned for periodic updates.

About these ads

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] Fans of Asterix and Obelisk will remember the comic book where the duo participates in the Olympics, only to compete against athletes honed for the express purpose of excelling at one sport [and one sport only]. My condition brings to mind the champion javelin thrower who had one scrawny arm, while the other ballooned with muscle – at this rate, that’s where I will be very soon. Has anyone else noticed anything similar? Reprinted with permission from Think More. [...]

  2. [...] Reprinted with permission from Think More. [...]

  3. [...] Reprinted with permission from Think More. [...]

  4. Teodor Manolov said, on December 22, 2009 at 8:29 am

    Hi,
    I want to ask you can i use these pictures and text to write a feature for the web site of Maxim Bulgaria.

  5. hemmant jha said, on December 22, 2009 at 9:13 am

    hi – yes, no problem. Please link back to the source : http://thinkmoreinc.wordpress.com/2009/12/21/156/

    and the name of the author : hemmant jha

    best regards

  6. [...] with permission from Think More. Tagged:fingershandsmedical [...]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: