thinkmore

50

Posted in good design, things we like by hemmant jha on March 19, 2009

The anti-iPhone.

This is not a rant against the iPhone. The iPhone is a wonderful, lustworthy device that is popular and famous for good reason and I plan to own one someday – if not to use, then to add to our collection of good and significant objects. The iPhone is so much more than a phone that it’s utility as a device for voice communicaion seems almost incidental [more so with every new application added to the app store].

This post is a salutation to the wonderful work that can come out of corporate environments [a rare bird not often seen].

The Motofone F3 was designed specifically for the developing world. As you’re undoubtedly aware, the mobile phone is an indispensable tool in those countries [parts of a country] where no telephone wires have been laid and where 24/7 communication [and water, power] are unheard of. The designers and engineers of Motorola created a phone designed specifically to serve these markets. A team was sent to live / work in India and to create a phone based on very specific user requirements – something perfectly tailored to meet the needs of these markets. In November 2006, Motorola announced the launch of this phone for India.

The F3 is lightweight, with an incredibly efficient and clear E-ink display that can be used wonderfully well in bright sunlight, a simple and flat menu with voice prompts, a two-antenna system for excellent reception in areas with poor coverage. It has very few components. It is also incredibly resistant to dust and abuse, and can be taken apart and repaired if necessary – it is held together with mechanical fasteners, not glue. A charger was available that could be clipped to a bicycle [a little dynamo based device]. To us, this is a very green product. And all this for the princely sum of Rs 1,500 [USD 30].

Within 6 months of appearing in stores, it disappeared. Cellphone stores [they’re more commonplace in India than Starbucks+McDonald’s in the US] couldn’t sell very many and refused to stock them. On my last visit to India, I tried very hard to find one to purchase – I contacted every official Motorola outpost and grey market source, without luck.

As it turned out, Motorola had done a great job of creating a well tailored phone. It was too perfect – it worked perfectly in its intended habitat and was designed to meet the needs of the users. However, it did not meet their aspirations.

A black/white display, no camera, no bollywood tunes – what kind of phone was this? The cheapest Nokia had all of those features – and almost everyone in India has a Nokia. In a direct comparison with a friend’s phone [or a neighbor’s], the F3 lost out everytime. Pretty soon, no one wanted one – all the shopkeepers I went to tried to sell me a Nokia instead.

In the end, I found some on eBay. I use my F3 everyday – it is a simple, excellent phone.

I can only hope that Motorola will not use this apparent failure to cut innovative research based products and projects. I would be happy to create a campaign to resurrect the F3. May I humbly suggest to Motorola Marketing that this might be the perfect green phone to sell at Whole Foods?

composite-motofone-web

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joshua Wentz said, on March 24, 2009 at 1:38 am

    This is as close to the phone of my dreams as I think I’ll ever get. Simple, light, no frills, and it looks fantastic. I don’t care for my current phone, a Nokia cheapie (only my second since joining the cellular world in 2002.)

    I’d get a new one, but I don’t really want all those extras. I certainly don’t want to pay for a camera I’ll never use!

  2. 61 « thinkmore said, on April 2, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    […] in intent to a lot of other designs featured on this site [2, 3, 4], the Farnsworth House is a product distilled down to its very essence. It is a secure enough […]

  3. 69 « thinkmore said, on April 17, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    […] While major labels struggle to find their place in the new world, younger labels, even one-man labels, have found opportunity to thrive. Since the advent of recorded sound, it has never been easier [than it is today] to share music, to produce music in a collaborative way across borders, to record and edit music, to stamp discs and create limited runs of custom packaging, to market a product across the entire world simultaneously and instantly. Essentially, all it should take to create a modern, worthy and independent label is good music, good marketing, good packaging – good stuff. One such noteworthy label is Sidedown Audio. It is the brainchild of Joshua Wentz, founder of Sidedown, a decidedly random design agency. I had the pleasure of meeting JW a few years ago, when he wrote about a product we had designed – I liked his writing and his approach to design, and we’ve kept in touch since. He keeps me posted about the goings on at Sidedown, and now I bring his label to you [disclaimer : I do not stand to benefit financially from this post : thinkmore believes that good efforts should be encouraged. We’ve featured other noteworthy efforts here : A , B , C , D , E ].  […]

  4. 85 « thinkmore said, on May 21, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    […] Motofone F3. […]

  5. […] phone that I am interested in is a bit newer and is a bit more tech. The Motorola F3. My buddy Hemmant showed it to me, told me a bit about the history and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Anecdotally, this […]


Leave a Reply

